The Jetta Saga Continues – Enter Gunther

After getting pulled over for an expired inspection sticker last month (the car was supposed to be inspected by September 2005) I decided to get my poor beleaguered Jetta inspected. The day arrived that I was to drop off the car for some quick repairs and general maintenance before the ritual drive through the mammoth bays of the DMV Inspection Station, and it seemed that the barracks of every NJ law enforcement community emptied in order to make me uncomfortable throughout my commute. I imagined that my orange sticker, seriously outdated, was flashing everytime a patrol car drove by calling out for attention. Thankfully, I made it to the garage where the magic would happen and my car would be made well enough to traverse New Jersey I195, 547, 133 and other farm roads.

$700.00 later, the car failed inspection but I bought a 45 day repreive from further nerve-wracking commutes in order to have time to make the essential repairs. 43 days later, the car goes in to see Gunther … the Specialty Auto crew who deal with VWs, Mercedes, Volvos and other European makes and models. Four days later, my car is still hanging out with Gunther and I am wondering when I am going to get it back. The two words that are haunting me at this point are “Check Engine.”

That sinister electronic gremlin is determined to keep my car from getting through the rigorous screening processes utilized by the ex-Nazis turned DMV goons. Last I heard, Gunther was on the trail of some code related to the fuel-injection or throttle actuator which means as much to me as it does to the typical farmer in rural China. Stay tuned for further developments.

Leave a Reply

